Governing Council

Members of The Governing Council

The Governing Council is the ultimate authority of the Institute and the highest decision making organ, with its role to oversee the Institute’s operations and affairs including overall governance.

It draws its powers from the constitution of the Institute and its decisions are subject to the ratification, modification or rejection at the Annual General Meeting of the Institute.

It is made up of a select team of tested GRC professionals across the globe. Members are appointed for a three-year term, and at the end of their term are eligible for re-appointment.

The Council comprises the President, Vice President, Registrar/Chief Executive and twelve other members. The members are as follows:


Dr. ‘ Uju M. Ogubunka


A  Chartered Banker, was in full time banking practice for twenty-three years before venturing into consulting, research, training, mediation and public speaking in 1998 prior to his joining the Institute as Director, Consultancy, Training and Research in 1999.

In 2006, he was appointed the Registrar/Chief Executive, The Chartered Institute of Bankers of Nigeria. He holds a Ph.D in Banking and Finance from the Federal University of Technology, Owerri and he is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Bankers of Nigeria and an Associate, Chartered Institute of Bankers, London. He is also a  Fellow of The Institute for Governance, Risk Management & Compliance Professionals.

He has authored, co-authored and edited many published papers and books including Elements of Privatization in Nigeria and Walking Ahead of Bank Distress.